Climbing Mount Vesuvius

They say a picture is worth a thousand words, but no picture or number of words can accurately describe the experience of climbing an active volcano. This past weekend I had the physically demanding, but worth while pleasure of climbing to the top of Mount Vesuvius. DSCN2431

Visitors aren’t allowed to climb to the top without a trained guide. Thankfully for my group and I, Roberto, a witty, Italian man took us on the path less traveled to the top. While trying not to slip off the edge, Roberto informed us that the Volcano is 4,200 feet high. Through a steep trail of sand and gravel my group and I climbed over 600 feet of the volcano. I can only compare the burn in your legs to that of when you try to run on the beach. I dressed for a hot sun bathing day, but turns out it’s pretty cold on a volcano.

DSCN2423I’m not sure what was more breathtaking, the physical climbing or the view. All I know is that, Roberto had some amazing calf muscles to be able to do this climb daily, and I was jealous. In all seriousness, I was above the clouds and in awe. I could just make out Naples and the surrounding towns below us. I love the contrast of the brown mountain against the blue skies.

Have I mentioned it’s an active volcano? Or that it killed most of the citizens of Pompeii in its last eruption? Roberto reassured us that the last eruption was in 1944. He explains that prior to the eruption, the Romans had no idea of the impending disaster, but now a days, scientists are carefully monitoring volcanic activity. There is an evacuation plan if needed and the public can be informed two weeks in advanced. Just as I was feeling more secure about potentially climbing to my death, he adds how the longer time between eruptions, the stronger the explosion. Comforting, right? Let’s just say my I picked up my pace after that.

DSCN2380At one of our few rest breaks, I caught my breath and let my eyes scan the view. There were neighboring mountain poking out of the clouds in the distance. Including Mount Solaro, which I had been to a couple days prior. My first thought was remembering how tall I thought that mountain was. My second thought was how I couldn’t believe I was now looking down on Mount Solaro.

With the top point in view I turned to my friend and said, “let’s run!” We ran a very short distance to the top and screamed, “We did it!” embracing with a hug to our victory. Looking down again at the beauty of the surrounding towns I wondered how such a pretty sigh could create so much damage.

This hike was symbolic for my group. The climb is physically and mentally demanding, but it parallels the obstacles we will have to overcome on the rest of our trip and in our futures. Despite the pain, we will always reach the top.DSCN2425

This entry was posted in Italy, Rome, SCOinRome, Study Abroad and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment